Char Dham Yatra 2020
Char Dham Yatra Travel Guide 2020

Char Dham Trekking » Gangotri Treks

The Holy River Ganga or Ganges is the most sacred river and holds great importance to the Hindus. The origin of Ganga River is situated in Devprayag where Bhagirathi and Alaknanda River meets. But the source of Bhagirathi River is known as Gaumukh and the point from where the Bhagirathi River starts descending is known as Gangotri (Gangotri means Ganga Utri in Hindi). Gangotri is a town of great religious significance, and is situated at a breathtaking altitude of 3048mts above sea level in Uttarkashi district of Garhwal region in Uttarakhand.

Gangotri has always lured trekker’s as there are great adventurous excursions from Gangotri which delivers you not only with divine beauty of nature but also with snow capped peaks of Himalayan range. Gaumukh is one of the holiest places for Hindu pilgrims who come here to witness the birth of Mother Ganga. The trek from Gangotri of about 19kms takes you to Gaumukh (Gaumukh implies cow’s mouth in Hindi).

Gaumukh is situated at an astounding height of 3896mts above sea level. Gaumukh is a moderate trek which can be extended to include Tapovan or Nadanvan. The trek will give a complete experience, right from self supported journey to camping in deep Himalayas. Tapovan is an ideal location for the tourists looking for peace and adventure. Tapovan is located on an altitude of 4463m / 14640ft above sea level. Tapovan is base camp for Shivlinga peak in Uttarakhand hills. One can also have a nice view of Bhagirathi peaks from Tapovan Meadow. Every year this place has been visited by thousands of tourist including foreigners for adventure activity like mountaineering & trekking. You can also trek to kedar Tal from Gangotri and kalindi khal trek to Badrinath but both treks are difficult to accomplish.

Explore Himalayas with Gangotri Kedarnath temples
Duration: 19 Nights / 20 Days
Destination Covered:
Delhi – Haridwar - Rishikesh - Uttarkashi - Gangotri - Bhojbasa - Gaumukh (3900m) - Tapovan (4450m) - Chirbasa -  Lata (1700m) - Belak Khal (2750m) - Budhakedar (1530m) - Baghi Chatti (2600m) Bhaironchatti - Ghuttu (1600m) - Panwali Khanta (3150m) - Maggu (3050m) - Triuginarain (1990m) - Gaurikund - KedarnathRudraprayag - Haridwar - Delhi
Sources of Ganges Trek (Gaumukh)
Duration: 13 Nights / 14 Days
Destination Covered
: Delhi - Dehradun - Mussorrie - Uttarkashi - Gangotri  - Chirbasa - Bhojbasa - Gaumukh (3900m) - Tapovan (4450m) - Kirti Bamak - Tapovan - Nandanvan (4570 m) Bhojbasa - Gangotri Trek - Uttarkashi - Rishikesh - Haridwar - Delhi
Gangotri - Gaumukh - Tapovan Trek
Duration: 11- 13 Days
Destination Covered
: Delhi - Rishikesh - Gangotri - Bhojbasa – Gaumukh - Tapovan
Gangotri Kalindi Khal Badrinath Trek
Duration: 13 Nights/14 Days
Destination Covered
: Rishikesh - Uttarkashi - Gangotri - Chirbasa to Bhojbasa  Trek - Gomukh – Tapovan - Nandanvan - Vasukital - Kharapathar - Kalindikhal - Rajparav(4910m) - Kalindi Pass (5967m) Arwatal  - Ghastoli  - Mana (3135) - Badrinath (3100m) - Joshimath - Rishikesh
Kalindi Khal Pass Trek
Duration: 17 Nights / 18 Days
Destination Covered
: Delhi - Haridwar - Rishikesh - Uttarkashi - Gangotri - Bhojbasa - Nandanvan - Vasuki Tal - Khara Pathar - Kalindikhal Base Sweta Glacier (5500 mt) - Rajaparav - Arwatal Ghastoli - Mana – Badrinath - Srinagar - Rishikesh Haridwar - Delhi
Kedar Tal Trek
Duration: 13 Nights / 14 Days
Destination Covered
: Delhi – Haridwar - Uttarkashi - Gangotri (3140 mts)
 Bhoj Kharak - Kedar Kharak (4270 mts - Kedar Tal (4912 mts)  - Bhoj Kharak - Gangotri Rishikesh - Delhi

Char Dham Yatra 2020 Online Booking

Get best offers and discounts on Char Dham hotels, Char Dham packages.